Thanks to the generosity of Theology Teacher Ms. Sara Gresko’s mother, as well as a dedicated prayer group at St. Adalbert Parish in Berea, each student at Holy Name has received a handmade rosary! To celebrate The Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary (today, October 7), Theology classes visited the Chapel this week to say the rosary and give thanks for these special gifts.

Namer Nation: It’s time to show Northeast Ohio who has the most school spirit! Holy Name has been nominated for Cleveland.com’s best football student section, and we need your votes! Visit http://bit.ly/1L4pxNE today and every day until Monday, October 12 at 3 p.m. to vote for the Namers. The top eight schools in this poll move on to the quarterfinals, so your vote is needed ASAP!


Last week, the Theology department held a peanut butter jar drive, with all peanut butter set to be donated to local soup kitchens. Mr. PJ Farrell, the senior theology teacher, said that thanks to the combined efforts of freshmen, sophomores, juniors and seniors, the school collected 1,682 ounces of peanut butter!

Along with donating the peanut butter to local soup kitchens, senior students who participated in the Caritas retreat last week will also be making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches to give to those in need.

Holy Name High School is pleased to announce that Jeanette Howard has been hired as the school’s next head varsity fastpitch softball coach. Howard’s tenure as head coach will begin immediately. She replaces Mark Skapin, who coached the Green Wave for one year before departing due to family reasons.

Since January 2008, Howard has served as the owner, instructor and coach at Explosive Fastpitch, LLC. She has instructed over 500 Northeast Ohio athletes, and trains more than 10 competitive tournament teams. Her teams have won two national championships (NSA and USSSA), and she has helped more than 50 athletes obtain college scholarships.

Howard also was the head varsity fastpitch softball coach at Strongsville High School from October 2005 to June 2011. During her time at Strongsville, she led the team to a regional championship in 2007 and was also named the 2007 Cuyahoga County Coach of the Year.

A 2005 graduate of Baldwin Wallace University with a degree in communications and public relations, Howard also played fastpitch softball for the Yellow Jackets. She was a team captain during the 2004 and 2005 seasons, and earned second team All-Ohio Athletic Conference honors in 2004 and first team All-OAC honors in 2005. A native of the Cleveland area, Howard was a standout player at Valley Forge High School in Parma Heights. Then Jeanette Brezina, she was a two-time Team MVP, a three-time Lake Erie League first team all-conference selection, a two-time LEL MVP and a two-time member of the The Plain Dealer All Star Team.

Howard inherits a Green Wave team that made it to the 2015 Division II LaGrange District Final. Five seniors graduated from last year’s team, including Abbey Yaugher, who was named a Division II All-Ohio Honorable Mention and is now playing at Walsh University. However, the team returns several starters, including first team all-district honorees sophomore Cassie Bily and junior Andrea Spinelli.

The renovation of our Physics Lab on the school’s first floor is now in progress! Over the summer, the room was completely gutted and everything from the floor to the chalkboards were removed. Now, the framework is being put in place to make the improved Physics Lab a functional space for classroom learning and most importantly, lab work that will promote hands on experiences! It is expected that the lab, which will be named the Medical Mutual/James V. Patton ’47 Physics Lab, will be dedicated in late fall 2015. We will continue to post pictures of progress being made, and look forward to unveiling the finished renovation later this year!

Members of our dedicated Moms’ Club have worked tirelessly to clean up and beautify Our Lady’s Shrine, which is located behind the school in the back parking lot. Our moms weeded the pathway, power washed the brick and planted beautiful mums and flowers to help us honor the Blessed Mother! A special thanks goes to Grace Brothers Nursery & Supply, who donated the 20 mums.

A reminder to all freshmen, sophomore, junior and senior girls who are interested in Softball Winterball: ‪Holy Name Fastpitch‬ will again compete at Brunswick BAT Cage this winter. While not mandatory, the opportunity is available to all girls who are considering attending tryouts for the upcoming regular season. Please contact Mrs. Linda Spinelli at lcspin@yahoo.com or at (440) 823-6685 by Friday, September 18 for more details.

Come together with fellow Green Wave alumni, parents, students, and friends for the second annual Homecoming Pre-Game Cookout and Football Game! The cookout will kick-off at 5 p.m. on Friday, September 18 near the South Gate of North Royalton’s Serpentini Chevrolet Stadium. Free hot dogs, hamburgers, and refreshments will be provided to all who attend.

After the cookout, join Namer Nation to cheer on the varsity football team as they take on the Bay Rockets at 7 p.m. All alumni who attend the Homecoming Pre-Game Cookout will receive a free ticket to the game!

To RSVP for this free event, visit the Homecoming Pre-Game Cookout Web Page. If you have any questions, please contact Colleen Corrigan Day ’88 at cday@holynamehs.com or (440) 886-0300 ext. 136!

We look forward to seeing you Friday, September 18 at Serpentini Chevrolet Stadium!

Congratulations to Jordyn Kachmar ’16, who was named the Cleveland.com Volleyball Player of the Week for September 3! Jordyn earned this recognition after having 21 digs, no service errors in 17 attempts and an ace during Holy Name’s win over Normandy on August 27.

Vote for Jordyn as the athlete who had the most impressive week! To vote, visit http://bit.ly/1JTm4nJ!


Today, we were blessed to celebrate the first Chapel Mass of the school year. Nearly 100 students, faculty members and parents came together for a Mass that was offered in memory of Mrs. Shari Wiesler and Mr. Bob Andrews, two Holy Name parents who passed away this summer. After the Mass, students gathered in the Christ Child Courtyard to enjoy a reception sponsored by the Holy Name Moms’ Club.

We pray all of our students have a wonderful school year, and hope they continue to experience and feel God’s love and the Holy Spirit in their everyday lives.