Rainbow Six Siege Esports Team Wins Third National Championship

For the third time this school year, the Rainbow Six Siege Esports Team brought a national championship home to Holy Name! The team won the High School Esports League (HSEL) title in the fall, during the winter open, and then once again on Sunday, June 7.

Team members this spring included Rafael Castro, Ricky Smith, CJ Forster, Taujheed Kelly, and Antonio DeLeva. Due to their winning efforts, each team member will receive a $1,000 college scholarship!

When the team won this past fall, each team member also received college scholarship money.

The team’s coach/moderator is Theology Teacher Mr. PJ Farrell.

Just Write Division 1 Team Finishes First in State

Holy Name’s Just Write Team competed against 22 other Ohio schools at the virtual state tournament in May.

In Division 1 (JV), Holy Name’s team of Christina Gordan ’23, Paige Hojdar ’23, Nicholas Hyatt ’23, Nicole Jordan ’22, Jessica Klonowski ’22, and Kayla Muro ’22 finished in first place overall! Kayla finished 11th individually, while Nicole earned a Director’s Choice Award for her story “Groundless Conviction.”

At the Division 2 (Varsity) level, Austin Hojdar ’20 took fourth place overall, while Matthew Stracensky ’20 finished in fourth.

Congratulations to all of them, including their adviser, Mrs. Holly White. We wish Austin and Matthew the best of luck at college in the fall, and look forward to seeing what the JV team accomplishes next year!

Dave Muro ’20 Submits Video to Sing Your Song Project

Earlier this spring, ideastream and Playhouse Square partnered for the Sing Your Song project, giving Northeast Ohio High School students the opportunity to perform their song from their canceled musical.

Dave Muro ’20 submitted this video of himself performing “Any Dream Will Do” from Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. Bravo, Dave!

Our Commitment to Equity, Inclusion, and a More Just Community

Hello Holy Name High School Families,

In the wake of the injustice and the death of George Floyd, Holy Name High School stands in solidarity with all families, past and present, both locally and nationally, who have experienced such hatred and loss.

We educate young men and women to proclaim the Gospel, live Christ-like lives, and accept and respect every dimension of diversity. Through this process of becoming responsible and caring citizens of our local and global community, our students discover their potential and value with each other.

We acknowledge that racism and prejudice is not only a historical pandemic, but is also alive and prevalent today. Holy Name vows to never turn a blind eye to defamation, and promises to cultivate within its students, faculty, administration, staff, and coaches an admiration for a diverse community who can work together toward inclusion and equality.

Holy Name prays that the global community finds courage and strength to move beyond just hopes and dreams, as well as unified fortitude to work with others to make justice and equality a reality for all people.

Please pray with us as a community the Prayer for Solidarity from the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops:

Almighty and ever-living God,
empower your one human family to join hands
on our journey of faith.
Send us your spirit of hope,
so that we may work
to alleviate human suffering
and foster charity and justice
in our world.

Mrs. Shelbrey Blanc, Principal
Mr. Jason J. Reed, Director of Diversity and Inclusion
Mrs. Karen Carter, Assistant Principal
Mr. Michael Sullivan, Assistant Principal

Senior Awards Ceremony: Class of 2020 Winners Announced

Never, Ever Give Up Project Created by Freshmen Displayed at UH Parma

Earlier this year, freshmen read “The Old Man and the Sea” by Ernest Hemingway. After reading the book, students wrote six-word memoirs that highlighted lessons they learned during their most difficult times. These memoirs were written on pieces of old t-shirts.

The six-word memoirs were slated to be displayed on Holy Name’s campus. However, following the school closure due to COVID-19, English Teacher Miss Megan Leigh approached University Hospitals Parma Medical Center to see if they would be open to having it displayed there. UH Parma immediately jumped on-board, and now, “Never, Ever Give Up! Love, HN” is a reality there.

Read the Cleveland.com story at https://www.cleveland.com/community/2020/05/holy-name-high-school-students-inspire-uh-parma-medical-center-employees-with-messages-of-perseverance.html.

Holy Name has many alumni and parents who are first responders and medical care workers. We are so proud of, and grateful for, the work they do each day to protect us, especially during this pandemic.